Dinging out on a Monday evening

Posted: April 9, 2007 in Uncategorized

We’re both having our own little “moments” here tonight. In our defense I have to remind that it is trauma Monday. Daughter and I are hit with the same brick in that we’re barely functional on Mondays.

I’ll start with myself. It has to do with my brand new digital piano. It’s been years and years that I’ve been without a real keyboard instrument. The reason for that is a sad story but not what this is about. Since Saturday night I’ve pretty much spent all my time getting to know the instrument and working all the rust out of my fingers. Now, when I sit down at the computer, I automatically and unconsciously feel for a sustain/damper pedal with my right foot under the desk when I sit down. How’s that for getting back in mode? I’ve also noticed that when I’m typing that I’m pretty much banging the hell out of this poor computer keyboard and about twice the speed I used to.

Now about daughter. This was so funny to me that I laughed hard enough that I almost had to lay down afterward. She’s 13 and seems to grow an inch every day. I remember how that feels. It makes a kid damned tired at the end of the day. Just like I did at her age, she sometimes crashes out for an hour or so after getting home, still in her school clothes. Her tardy bell at school rings at 8:35. At exactly 8:30 this evening she burst into my room all wild-eyed with her hair sticking out every direction.

Her: DAD!!!
Me: (jumping out of my skin) What???
Her: IT’S 8:30!!! (several seconds of rapid-fire gibberish) I’M LATE . . . WE GOTTA GO!!! I’M LATE FOR SCHOOL!!!

At least she was dressed for school.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    Awww…. poor dear. I hate that confuzzled feeling after a nap. Glad you are enjoying the piano!

  2. Greg says:

    Confuzzled. I love that word. Did you make it up?

  3. laanba says:

    Yes I did although I may have heard it somewhere else, but also as a made up word.

Leave a Reply

