Vacation

Posted: May 23, 2007 in Uncategorized

I have been putting out “fires” on the job for months now. Hopefully, after tomorrow it will end. At least for awhile. I found out today that I can still do an upside-down, verticle, one-armed push-up on my left (weakest) arm all day long while sucking mud in a four foot hole as water gushes up from the main line.

I have finally decided that it’s about damned time for me to take two weeks off. I told my immediate boss and he agreed. It’s been about three years since I last took a vacation. He will present it to our bosses, I will get the blessing and I will then sleep for an entire week.

I plan to have some fun too. Daughter and I will be going to the beach almost every day. We will swim and fish in the surf, get freakishly dark, catch fish and fry them the next day with fried potatoes, raw onion, pork and beans and raw jalapenos. After our long, hot showers, we will hit our beds ankles and head at the same time.

Comments
  1. Sounds glorious. Staying in and around Houston are will you be exploring other locales that have beaches that can’t give you E Coli? Ah, I kid because I love Galveston….just not the beaches.

    Have a great time!
    LK

  2. Greg says:

    E Coli- Very funny.

    I’ll be staying here. The point of a vacation to me rest. Not that I do that at the beach but at least it’s here. I might spend a couple days in my hometown of Corpus.
    As far as Galveston, I wouldn’t think of going to any of those beaches. E Coli is probably right. And ugly . . . I go to Surfside or Quintana in the Freeport area. Big difference. Cleaner water, less people (sometimes none).

    I loved your story about the clothes hamper! I wanted to comment but I was laughing too hard. Did that really happen?

Leave a Reply

