Vacation update

Posted: June 30, 2007 in Uncategorized

I’ve got nine more days left in this vacation. The first seven days sped by like lightening. They weren’t much fun either. Although I loved being able to sleep in and totally screw off on all those weekdays, I didn’t enjoy it like I should have. I was pretty damned sick. It’s all how you look at it though. It’s true that the first half of my long overdue vacation was ruined but it would be so much worse if I had to work most of those days feeling like I did.

I am happy to say that I am now mostly over whatever the hell I had. My daughter spent most of the week at her friend’s house. I don’t blame her; I wasn’t much fun. This is also her vacation time and I could barely get out of bed at a decent hour, much less get out and do anything. She’s been doing the same thing though but not because of illness. Her reason is laziness. That’s okay with me because she really worked her ass off and got accepted into a very special high school which is going to take up almost all of her time next school year. I want her to enjoy this summer as much as possible.

All we plan to do tomorrow is go to the fish and reptile store to get two dozen minnows for her stupid turtles and then ‘que two racks of pork ribs. It’s not much but it’s a step toward getting off our asses and finally doing something together.

What we want to do is get out to the beach. Unfortunately, this seems to be one of those summers where it just friggin rains every friggin day of the friggin week. We could probably get used to being in the rain out there but the possibility of being struck by lightening sort of takes all the fun out of it.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    Sometimes you just need to be lazy to restore your spirit and your energy. Of course that is what I just keep telling myself because I am being INCREDIBLY lazy this summer.

    Are you sure it is raining on the island when it is raining by you? It didn’t rain a drop on me yesterday and I know that it was raining on the west side.

    Enjoy the rest of your vacation, you deserve it.

Leave a Reply

