Back online

Posted: October 4, 2007 in computer

I lost my internet connection well over a week ago. Of course, I panicked. I started yanking cables and reinsurting them, trying new cables, rebooting, using canned air and even whacking the modem with my wooden back scratcher. Nothing worked. I was screwed and I knew it.

I had to call my ISP tech support. After listening to their lame-assed music for two hours on the phone I . . . just kidding. They were on the line in a matter of seconds and helped me narrow down the problem. A woman with a very pleasant voice walked me through the same steps I had taken several times before on my own and gave me the diagnosis.

“Your modem has taken a dirt nap”, she said.
That’s pretty direct. I like that. She told me exactly what to do, I thanked her for her help and she told me to call back if I needed help getting set back up.

I set up the new modem/router tonight and now I’m back online. My email hasn’t been opened in over a week and I’m seriously behind with my favorite blogs. It’s going to take me two days to catch up. Possibly three.

Comments
  1. I..for one…have missed you.

    I actually noticed your absence, plus the fact that you hadn’t updated your blog in a while. I figured something was either technically wrong…you were back in Florida Or….you were in love.

    Uh-huh.

    LK

  2. Welcome Back! I’m with Laurie. You were missed.
    Oh. And you may be in love too? Must be nice. *sighs long drawn out sigh that no one hears but me*

  3. Greg says:

    Thanks both of you. I’m still catching up with each of your blogs.
    Nah, J, Laurie’s joking. I’m not even dating.

Leave a Reply

