Glorious relief

Posted: October 6, 2007 in life

Many posts ago I mentioned that I needed some dental work done. I had an abscessed molar that swelled my jaw almost into the shape of a golfball. Then the same thing happened on the other side sometime after that. From then on, even though the swelling went down, I was still in various levels of discomfort. Anywhere from dull aches to throbbing pain. Whatever the level, it was constant.

I think my life changed yesterday. I finally got to the dentist and had them yanked out. Finally! That’s not all. I had five more taken out, all molars. I needed to. They were just waiting to take the place of the other two that I had evicted. I hope this doesn’t turn anyone off. It’s not as drastic as it sounds. It didn’t change my appearance one bit (not that anyone knows what I look like anyway). The only difference is that I don’t have my extreme back teeth anymore. I am comfortable with that and I’ll say why toward the end of this.

I couldn’t mention this without sharing the grewsome details with you. I arrived at the dentist’s office at 1:30. He’s actually an oral surgeon/plastic surgeon . . . whatever. Anyway, when my time came they had me lay on what looked like a large ironing board. Above was that huge light that I remember from when I was a kid getting braces. Not a comforting sight. The doctor came in and sat down without even saying hi. He then put an IV in my hand and the next thing I knew I was being wheeled into another room after the procedure. It was as though I was looking at that light one moment, then blinked and was suddenly in another room. An hour later.

That’s some serious druggage. Now I know why they require you to have a ride home. I was unsteady when I got to my feet as they led me to the wheelchair they used to roll me out to the parking lot. By now I was becoming aware of the state of my mouth. I wasn’t in pain but it was stuffed full of gauze and blood. I couldn’t feel my face and I could hardly talk, mostly due to all the gauze that was crammed in there. By the time I got home the drugs had mostly worn off. My Dad is the greatest. He hung around to make sure I didn’t walk into walls or drown as I took my first few sips of water after seven hours. He even went and got me popsicles (the only thing I was allowed to have) and an ice pack. I spent the rest of the night changing out the gauze and spitting blood. Sorry, just a fact. Gabby is the greatest too. She hardly let me out of her sight and wanted to wait on me hand and foot. Thing is, I couldn’t have anything but an ice pack. I went to bed feeling pretty ragged. The damned numbing agent they used never wore off. My lower face felt like Play-Do to my hands and my tongue was even numb.

Gabby woke me up this morning and asked how I was feeling. I was half asleep. I sat up in bed and as I became more awake I realized that I felt fantastic. I touched my face and I could feel my hand. I bounced out of bed and took a shower. I wasn’t bleeding anymore and there was absolutely no swelling which I was told there would be. I was also told that I would need several days of healing before I could get back to work or anything else. Bullshit. I was not only normal but feeling better than I have in twenty years. In fact, I felt like I was twenty again. How’s that for healing up? I’ve never felt better in my life. My mood even took a major upswing. I can’t help but think that those teeth might have been slowly and increasingly dragging my health and mood down. Good riddance.

Comments
  1. Think about this, my brother….if your choppers are this close to your brain, why wouldn’t they…why couldn’t they have a direct linear affect on your health. If nothing else, chronic pain is a…oh what’s the phrase?? Oh yeah–a muthuh fuckuh. That’ll piss on your mood faster than Collin Farrell during an eight hour drunk.

    Glad your better.

    LK

  2. I tell you, I don’t like the idea of surgery but the best feeling in the world is that feeling you get all drugged up and knowing you are going to rest at home and not bother going to work…but in your case it was a power boost! Wish my recently pulled widsom teeth had that effect on me.

  3. Catrina says:

    5 teeth? Wow. You’re a bad boy for waiting that long to get the abscessed teeth removed. Ever heard of an infection in your blood? Sepsis. It kills. What a relief though, eh? Keep taking the antibiotics even though you feel better.

  4. Greg says:

    Seven Cat.
    I know.
    Yes.
    Yes, I know.
    Hell, yes.
    I have been. I took the very last one this evening.

    I appreciate when you get all RN on me Catrina. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

