Posted: January 16, 2008 in Uncategorized, work

331035325511.jpeg

I really don’t want to bore anyone with what it is I do for a living but in order for you to understand my dilema, I must. I will make it brief as possible.

I install water treatment systems on hotels, condos, apartment complexes or any other large buildings with a potable (domestic) water system. Our job is to control the scale and corrosion of the piping system. I also have to service the existing accounts on a monthly basis. One of the most important tasks I have on these monthly visits is to run a routine water test to measure the level of phosphate I have in the system. Too little will not do the job. Too much could do damage. I use a handy digital field test kit that tells me to the 1/100 of a part per million what the PO4 residual is. Other than physical evidence, this is the only method in the field we have of knowing how well we are protecting or in many cases extending the life of an aging plumbing system.

Well guess what? I left the kit in Dallas last week. Damn me. I put it on a table in the engineering shop as I went to double-check something. After that I walked right by that kit and drove four hours back to Houston. Idiot. I called them the next day and they said they had it locked in the chief engineers locker. I’ll get it back but now I have to use this clunky, twice as big piece of crap until I get the other one back.

Comments
  1. catrina says:

    Just stick your tongue in the water to see how much P04 is in the system! That’s what I do! 🙂

  2. Greg says:

    Hahahahaaa!
    Believe it or not I was so close to writing a little story about how I could impress my bosses or anyone else with that ability. The story would have me getting a mouthfull of water out of a sink and swishing it around in my mouth while furrowing my brow and rolling my eyes upward. I would then spit the water out fast and hard onto the floor (not the sink) and say “1.862 ppm sir.”

  3. Jenice says:

    Well it’s easy to forget things here. You are so busy trying to figure out what the hell is the big deal about Dallas and walk about bewildered about how much it sucks.

  4. Greg says:

    Jenice, you are on a roll. I just read your comment about your Christmas lights and it made me laugh. I then came here to look at your comment and sort of lost it. Sorry for laughing so hard. You really, really, really do not like it there anymore, do you?

    We have a place for you here in Houston. C’mon, switch teams.

Leave a Reply

