Reconnected

Posted: January 24, 2008 in people

Yesterday evening I found the most wonderful message in my email thanks to the website Classmates. No need to link it, I’m sure everyone knows what it is. It may seem dorky to some people (Laurie comes to mind), but I must say that it has reconnected me with many of my best friends from high school that I thought I’d never, ever hear from again. In fact, had it not been for this site I would have never known about my twentieth High School reunion, which I attended.

To borrow a quote from a well-known rock star and modify it to fit our situation, a few years after high school about twenty people got in twenty different vehicles and headed for twenty different destinations to do twenty different things. Time passes and life gets more complicated. Many of us lost touch with each other. But this site made it very easy to contact each other after about 25 years.

I don’t hang out on this site because it’s very cumbersome. Only if I’m really bored will I browse through it. I don’t have to though. If you’re properly signed up it will email you with any messages sent to your account. The message I got last night was that Barbara W. had left me a message. I knew right away who it was. I haven’t heard from her since she left for NYC in about 1989. She was supposed to come back but she never did. She’s divorced with a boy, 12 and a girl 17 and works at NBC. She doesn’t want to separate her kids from their father so she’ll still probably never return.

I thought about her when I was there in December but had no idea whether she was still there. It didn’t matter much since I didn’t have any free time anyway. We’ve exchanged two more emails since yesterday. One topic that came up was an extremely fun and crazy three days we and the rest of our little gang of friends had in San Antonio when we fled Corpus Christi as hurricane Gilbert looked like it was heading straight for us. We agreed that it was probably one of the funnest times we ever had together. I am going to talk about it in the next post. Hopefully that will be tomorrow evening. It’s 9:15 here now and there is no way to do it tonight and make it to work on time in the morning.

Comments
  1. I believe in Classmates. I am a member of Classmates.

    You may continue being a member of classmates, my son.

    Go with God.

    LK

    (Sorry, I’ve not been around much. The Laurie had stomach surgery on 12/17 and has had to deal with much post operative..uh…uh…what’s the word? Oh yeah…BULLSHIT!!!

  2. kristiane says:

    Ahhh…Classmates. That was my first ever social networking site of which I was a member. Then came MySpace…and Facebook…and does blogging count now as well?
    Seriously, who needs friends if they cannot be electronic? 😉

Leave a Reply

