Dissonance

Posted: February 8, 2008 in computer

If you enter this word in a search engine you will get many different results. Most will be about cognitive dissonance and others about the musical definition. Looking further, you will also find other sites of the same name. One being a goth looking band and another by someone who is trying to write a screenplay. Then there’s me.

It’s easy to find this blog by typing in that search word but it will probably be 2 out of 10 results. If you add a D to the end of the word I’m about 5 in 10 search results on the first page (just an estimate). That’s because I use a D in my URL. I don’t use it in the title of this blog.

If this was a band blog I suppose there would be a conflict over the rights to the name/title. But this is just a blog. A really pointless blog. I really don’t think anyone gives a shit if I share the name. It’s just a word. They might have to fight me for it though. Kidding.

I have always regretted choosing this as a name for this blog. In 2003 I started exploring the blogosphere and became fascinated with it. I wanted to know more about it so I read as much as I could. I decided that I wanted to see how succesful I would be at creating my own. As you know it was quite easy.

I was surprised to see that creating a blog was as easy as it was. It was all set up except for a title. I didn’t know what the hell to call it because I had no purpose or direction. I was just playing around on the computer. To be honest, I never intended to use it. I was going to abandon it. I decided to keep it up just to see what would happen. The name dissonance doesn’t really mean anything in reference to this blog. It’s just a word I used because I couldn’t think of anything else.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    Titles are always the thing I find the hardest to choose. I spend days, sometimes weeks agonizing over titles, researching, googling. I have some photography ideas floating around for some different websites, etc., but I need a good title to give things focus. Most people would actually, you know, focus on details of the actual content, but not me. Titles. 🙂

  2. Greg says:

    Yeah, I know what you mean. Had I known that this blog would get the attention that it has the last (almost) four years I would have chosen something else. Like you, I probably would have thought about it for an entire month.

Leave a Reply

