The creature

Posted: February 8, 2008 in home

I spoke months ago about aquiring a new aquarium. Gabby’s turtles moved from a 20 gallon tank to a huge, gurgling 80 gallon monster. I’ll say it again: This place looks like a Chinese restaraunt.

Two weeks ago there were only two happy aquatic turtles, a couple of sucker fish and minnows (turtle food) in there. Now, thanks to my oldest daughter, there is an African albino clawed frog living in there with them. She’s had the thing for a few years and the girls decided that it would be a good idea to put the thing in the big aquarium.

Yes, it was the right thing to do but, damn . . . It’s the ugliest thing I’ve ever seen. It’s a frog, an albino and it actually has claws. Not only that but it seems to be able to hold it’s breath for several days at a time while lying motionless on the bottom. The thing is just disgusting. Every few days (I’m assuming) the thing will rise to the surface to exhale and get some air and then sink slowly back to the bottom as if it’s dead and then sit there for another three days. Looking dead. Thanks to my weirdo daughters, this isn’t an average aquarium.

Comments
  1. Jenice says:

    Claws? On a frog??? I want you to post photos…NOW…

  2. Jenice says:

    By the by…I’ve always wanted a turtle.

  3. Greg says:

    Jenice, I tried and tried. I don’t have a digital camera but Sara already had two pictures of the thing in her cell phone. She sent them twice to my computer but nothing showed up in my email. She said (her words) that her network has been screwy lately. Maybe it will work tomorrow.

  4. Greg says:

    Major update-
    Bella the butt-fugly frog was found dead this morning. Cause of death: Unknown.

  5. kristiane says:

    Nice. I like the Chinese restaurant image. I totally see it.

Leave a Reply

