Well, it’s about time!

Posted: March 7, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Every year the state of Texas issues a list of names of Texas residents who have unclaimed money sitting in the state treasury. It’s a very long list. In fact, it’s an entire extra section in the paper. I never bother to look at it. Trust me, no one owes me money. Except for that lazy bum Paul. He can keep it though. It was actually worth the $30.00 to have him disappear from my life forever.

Well, guess what? My time has finally come! I found some unclaimed money not just of mine but of my Dad’s as well (we sort of share the same first name). This wasn’t on the same listing I mentioned before but on a national listing. Online. It also has a list of unclaimed property. I didn’t check that. I don’t need to. I can move to Oklahoma and probably get free land and free tuition anytime I feel like moving to Oklahoma – which I do not.

Instead, I’ll stay right here in Texas and cash in on my unclaimed money. I haven’t decided what to do with it yet. I certainly don’t want to squander it though. As for my Dad, well, I couldn’t tell you. His amount is less than mine. Below are the details.

Me:
Year Reported: 2002
Reported By: Misson Bend MUD 1
Amount: $7.39

My Dad:
Year Reported: 1997
Reported By: Baroid
Amount .70

This is funny to me because my Dad left that company in the very early seventies.

unclaimed.org is the link if you are interested in looking at it.

Comments
  1. kristiane says:

    Wow. That’s almost enough for a movie ticket, almost.

  2. Greg says:

    Wouldn’t it blow their minds if I went to all the trouble it would take to get this back?

  3. That eight plus bucks you didn’t have before, my brother.

    LK

  4. Natalie says:

    Wow! Now that you’re independently wealthy, I just might have to track you down! 😉

  5. Laura says:

    I went to the link you posted and found myself(I think. It said Bank One owes me $150.00. I’ll take you to dinner…you pay for parking, eh?

  6. Oh Fuck me…I just checked and damned if I don’t OWE the state money.

    Story of my life.

    Thanks G!! Ignorance WAS bliss!!!

    LK

  7. Natalie says:

    Wah. Why did you take down the true/false quiz?

  8. Greg says:

    Natalie, It seemed like a good idea the night I typed it out but when I saw it the next day it made me wince. I decided then that it wasn’t such a good idea. I did see your comment and I’ll give you the answers if you would like to see them. I certainly don’t mind pointing out the ones that are not true.

  9. Natalie says:

    Nosy is my middle name. Fire away, Greg.

  10. Greg says:

    This is for you Natalie Nosy P – – – – ski :

    I have never completed a NYT crossword in 15 minutes.
    I do not have a tattoo.
    I never made out with Janeane Garafalo.
    I do not confuse Ron Paul with Rupaul.
    The Donnas do not have a restraining order against me.

  11. Natalie says:

    Haha. Thanks, Greg. Sorry I just made it back over here. What a week.

Leave a Reply

