Easter Sunday 2008

Posted: March 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

I woke up at the usual pre-dawn hour. I looked at the clock then let my eyes slam back shut. I woke back up around seven and went into a panic. I sprung from my bed and stumbled as fast as I could over to Gabby’s room.

Me: “Gabby!”
No resonse.
Me: “Gabby!!”
Gabby: (Barely lifting her head) :”Huhhh?”
Me: “Do you have school today?!!”
Gabby: “Sigh . . . ugh . . . Nooooooo . . . ”
Me: “Oh, ok. Sorry.”
Gabby: ” ‘tsokay.” (her head lands back on her pillow)

She has been on spring break and I didn’t remember if she had to go back on Monday or not. I made my way back to my room and fell back into my bed. I still had about an hour to lay there before I had to get back out and face the trauma of Monday morning.

I eventually got back out of my bed, gathered some clothes and headed for the shower. As I was sitting in there still half asleep waiting for the water in the shower to warm up and cursing the day it suddenly hit me like a ton of bricks; I had no memory of Easter Sunday. I suddenly became very awake and realized that it was not Monday but Sunday.

Is that not the biggest dumb-assed moment of all time? That is stupid deluxe. I was getting ready for work on what I thought was Monday when it was Easter Sunday. I paused and thought “Wait. Wait just a damned minute . . . today is Sunday.” I went back to bed. Go ahead and laugh. I am.

We had a great time. A much better time than we had in
2006

Comments
  1. I’ve done that.

    WHen I was with S&P on the morning show on KLOL, I woke one night convinced I was late…very late. I had to be at work no later than 5:20 to get on the pre show stuff done.

    I looked over at the clock..saw that it was 5:00 and jumped out of bed, into the shower, through on what ever smelled the least offensive and drove into the station. Fortunately, I lived in Monstrose at the time…the station was there,too.

    I ran into the studio and the overnight guy was sitting there. I asked him where everyone was..the rest of the case and he said probably in bed and I asked him what he meant and he said because it was just 1 am.

    I’m not sure how or why my eyes and brain didn’t make the connection with my clock…I know I saw that it read 5:00 and when I got home to double check, the clock was keeping perfect time.

    Not sure what happened other than perhaps in the great cosmic scheme of things, I was supposed to be either at the station at that particular time OR away from my house.

    The world may never know.

    Happy Week, G!!
    LK

  2. Natalie says:

    That’s an Easter present in itself! The chance to go back to bed because it’s Sunday instead of Monday? Priceless.

    Hilarious, though.

  3. kristiane says:

    That’s a great story, like finding a 20 in your jeans or something.

  4. Greg says:

    That’s funny Laurie. What did you do? Go back home? Stay there? Hang out in an all night diner until you had go back?

    Yes, Natalie. Yesssssssss . . .

    What a perfect analogy Kristiane. That reminded me of something very similar but 3 times better. About three years after I got married I was de-cluttering the garage. I started with the clothes we were to take to the donation drop-off and I found the suit I wore on my wedding day. In a box. Inside the jacket pocket were 3 twenties! I was so excited that I ran in and showed her. In hindsight, I should have just kept my mouth shut about it.

Leave a Reply

