Emerging from the cave

Posted: April 1, 2008 in recreation
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The title here simply reflects how I feel this time of year and it is a great feeling. I don’t hole up during the winter (I work outside most of the time) but by God, I don’t get out in the painfully cold weather on my offtime. No, no, no. Hell, no! The older I get, the less I can tolerate it. I understand that the degree of cold we get here could actually be a great day for those of you in the north (three of you are on my blogroll). But imagine what it would be like to spend an entire summer down here in triple digit temperatures with 90% humidity. I am perfectly comfortable in that sort of climate. I was born and raised in it.

Even without looking back into four years of archives here, I’d bet that I have said this every year about this same time. I can’t help it. Spring and summer is when I get my spirit back because it’s once again time to return to my element: Water. It’s beach, bay and jetty season! It’s the only time of year I will gladly get out of bed at the crack of dawn on a Saturday. Incentive.

I just recently started checking the beach conditions this year. I don’t bother in the winter because I already know what the conditions are. They are miserable. I already know that and I don’t need details. However, starting about this time of year and all the way into fall I keep track of the conditions over a super, super handy website called Gary’s surf cam. It’s a web site that has more information about current beach conditions than you could ever use and it’s also very damned accurate.

The absolute coolest feature of this site is what it’s name claims to be. It’s an honest-to-God live surf cam. The camera is mounted on the roof of a beach house located on my favorite beach here. It normally refreshes every 10 minutes, so you can get a real-time view of what the water is doing at any time.

This is why it is so valuable to me. My main purpose of being in the surf is to bring home fish. Gabby and I love fish. If the surf is nice and calm it’s almost certain that we will do well. If it’s rough and choppy the chances are very slim. A regular Saturday morning ritual is to pull up the site and check out all the conditions complete with a live visual of the surf and decide at that point if we want to go out there. If it’s calm, I’ll run out of this room in a panic shouting “Hurry, Gabby! It’s like glass out there! C’mon, c’mon!!!” If it’s not I’ll say “Umm . . . it’s pretty choppy. Windy. Whatcha wanna do?” On days like that we usually end up going anyway just to play in the surf but at least we knew what to expect. The water is now up to 70 already. I’m hoping to get out there this weekend.

This is a screen shot of the surf cam from yesterday so you can see what I’m talking about. Unfortunately, sometimes the image quality sucks, like now (maybe I shouldn’t be showing it now). It sometimes gets this ugly, green look. Maybe the lens needs cleaning. Normally it’s in full color which is important to me because I need to see what color the water is. That has almost everything to do with luring fish. Anyway, see that black object out there? It looks like the fin of a giant shark doesn’t it? It’s not. If it was you would probably be seeing the tail fin too because that is fairly shallow water. It’s probably something washing ashore. As usual, click on the picture to enlarge it.


ss_octa.jpg

[Update 4-5-08] After looking much closer at this, the object in the water looks like a reverse still image from the famous film hoax of Bigfoot in the 70’s. You must look really, really, really close to see the resemblence.

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Now that I have a car again, the girls and I will be meeting ya’ll out there this summer. YESSSS…!!!!

  2. kristiane says:

    I think I would like Spring and Summer better if there was seawater nearby. The mosquito producing lakes just don’t cut it.

  3. dailytri says:

    I can definitely relate! We’ve had snow on the ground here since Dec. 1. That’s four-plus months of snow, not to mention the unmentionable frigid temps. Spring? Where are you spring!!

    I’d love to do the fishing thing. I’m adding it to my list of to-dos!

  4. Jenice says:

    It must be nice to be so close to water. Though I’m not a huge Houston fan as I may have told you…
    Seems like this time last year I remember you wanting to get out the beach!

Leave a Reply

