Trying out the new WordPress dashboard

Posted: April 5, 2008 in computer
Tags: , , , , ,

I was surprised yesterday afternoon to see this completely new dashboard. At first I thought something was wrong with it but after looking around I realized that this was a new design. I didn’t think much about it at the time because I just wanted to check my favorite blogs. I did that and then went on with my nightly duties around here. After I did all that I fell asleep. I didn’t set foot back on the floor until about 4:00 AM when I had to go turn off the lights and the TV.

After all that unexpected sleep and then walking through the apartment I didn’t feel like I was going to get right back to sleep so I opened up WordPress again. This is when I noticed just how different the dashboard is. I went to WordPress News and saw the announcement time-stamped at 9:44 PM (later than the change took place). I spent the next two hours reading user comments and exploring all the new changes. The comments were interesting. Some love it and some hate it.

I played around with the widgets and found that all but one that I added and removed worked. In my opinion it’s much easier than dragging and dropping. I just hope they can get the “Recent Post” widget to show the title instead of the code. There was some talk about problems with retrieving drafts. I have been in and out of this post several times just to see what would happen and I got it back every time. However, I haven’t actually logged out, rebooted and checked the status of a draft. I’ll try that another time. The method of adding photos, images or videos doesn’t look like it’s going to be all that different either. I’m about to find out. Here goes. Remember, this is only a test. This will be just a random image from my files, an audio and a video from Youtube.

I’ll try an image first.

Check.


Then a song.

Your’re No
Good.

Check.


And now a video.

Paint Jam

Check.

This concludes my test of the the new WordPress dashboard. It is mostly working for me. I am only a free user. I cannot speak for the users who use the more sophisticated tools here. All I can say is that I have had no problem understanding or using the new dashboard.

Comments
  1. catrina says:

    I like that video! It’s so cool!

  2. I can’t figure this out. It won’t let me post a vid or a photo. I don;t know what I’m doing wrong.

    I don’t want to just put links in the body of my texts. I want include photos and imbedded videos, but this new dashboard seems limited.

    Call me later this week G and walk me through this.

    LK

  3. Greg says:

    I’ll call you today. I just need a few hours. My oldest daughter is coming over to visit.

  4. You don’t have to do it today. No rush. Your family takes precedence. We can talk this week.

    LK

  5. romi41 says:

    I agree. I admit at first that I was a little repulsed by the look of it, but I just wrote my first new post in the “brave new world”, and it was actually a-okay! Rock on WordPress 😉

  6. Greg says:

    Yes, it is ugly Romi. What were they thinking?

Leave a Reply

