Posted: April 10, 2008 in city, community, life
Tags: , ,

I woke up in a relatively good mood and had a productive day without any problems. That is until I got back to my side of town at the end of the day. I was all over this city today but it wasn’t until I got back to my own neighborhood that my day just went to shit within an hour. It was the very last hour before I got home at the end of the day. I should have just picked up Gabby and gone straight home instead of stopping off at the reptile place first and then going to the grocery store after I picked her up.

My mood took it’s first downward turn when I stopped at the fish and reptile place which wasn’t really urgent because turtles will eat anything. Plus we keep minnows in the aquarium for them to eat and minnows breed like rats. I just did this because Gabby asked me to. Get ready to hear the word “again” over and over. When I got out of my truck and made my way toward the store I noticed that a car was backing out right in front of the store. I waited as they began to slowly pull out so that they could get out and on their way without having to wait for me to get out of the way. The car stopped rolling backward after about three feet and just sat there for awhile. I then started to move across and this time the car lunged backward. I stopped again and stepped back onto the curb and waited for them to continue pulling out. It just sat there and sat there. I started across again and the car lunged backward again. I decided to make my way around the front of the car. This time it started moving foreward preventing me from making my way around the front. I stepped back and waited. Again, it just sat there. I decided to just walk around the back of the car and it started backing up. I stopped. It stopped. I moved. It moved. Finally, I stepped it up and began to dash around the rear again. The car kept up with me foot for foot this time completely blocking me which of course was the intention. Finally, both right-side windows rolled down. What I saw was a car-full of thugs (5 or 6) all looking me right in the eye and laughing their useless, worthless, intoxicated, lazy asses off at my expense.

I bought the damned turtle food and went to pick up Gabby around the corner. From there we went to the store. When it was time to check our items out I decided to have it checked for me because I had a lot of produce and the self check lines were backing up into the aisles. Well, guess what? For the second time in a row it turned out to be the same little 19 or 20 something shit-head that checked out my groceries over the weekend. He has little-guy syndrome. Same as little man syndrome. He stands about 5′ 4″ has a permanently clenched jaw and lips pursed so tightly that you couldn’t drive a nail between them. My 14 year-old daughter is taller than he is and I think he noticed that. Of course he never even looked up at me when he started angrily scanning my stuff. When he had completed that, without looking up he said “Kroger card.” I handed it to him. He handed it back to me with my change. I said “Thank you.” He never even looked up. I thanked him again a little more audibly. He just looked up for less than a second, snorted through his nose, looked back down and began ringing up the next customer. I decided at that moment that the next time this ever happens, no matter where it is, I am going to tell them what to do with themselves and where to go and walk away leaving the store’s property to rot at the register.

After that we took some back streets home in total silence. Gabby knew I was extremely pissed off. I nearly bit my tongue in half to keep from expressing how I was feeling at this point. As we rounded the last corner and were no more than a block from home, some thug with two pit bulls started crossing the street way down the street in front of us. I slowed down to allow the guy enough time for him and his dogs to get across the street before I reached that point. What does he do? The closer I get, the slower he moves. When I finally get in direct proximity, he and his attack dogs stop dead in the middle of the street and face my truck just daring me to run over them. Believe me, I was temped. The message from this particular thug was clear: You get out of our way when we’re in the streets, or else. At this point I’d had about all I could take. So just to make a point I did not go around him. I slowed down to a stop right in front of him and layed on the horn. This class-act called me a mother fucker and slapped the hood of my truck. I had Gabby in the truck and he had two pit bulls. What can I do? When he got out of my way I drove home.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    Wow you had a completely sucky day. First off I would have been scared with the car thing at the pet store. Probably with the one at the end of the day too with the dogs.

    I would suggest talking to the grocery store manager if that happens again. Have him called for. That clerk is costing the store business. Sorry for him, but that job is a people job and if you can’t be nice to people (or at least fake it) then he needs to be doing something else in the store.

  2. Laura says:

    If I were you, I wouldn’t wait for that little bitter prick from Kroger do that again. Go talk to management today and complain. That’s what I have done. As for that waste of oxygen with the dogs: If he lives at your complex, find out if they have a “no pit bull” policy and rat him out. A lot of complexes have have certain breeds on their no-no list. Where are grenades when you need them?!

  3. dailytri says:

    Why is it that people who own pit bulls tend to be the same people looking for a fist fight? Do the dogs make them bad ass? I have no time for people like this in my life.

  4. Greg says:

    Nor do I. Unfortunately, it seems we have no choice sometimes because they move in around us. As for your question about pitbulls and people looking for a fight: I’m sure you’ve heard about how dogs tend to resemble their owners and vice-versa. Well, that’s all the explanation I need. Yes, I do think it makes them feel bad-ass, similar to carrying an illegal gun. They also use these dogs to keep the cops or a beef at bay while they jump out a window. These are the city guys. Other people are either just stupid or barbaric enough to fight them. I am all for eradicating this breed of dog for good. Down to the very last one. I am 100% serious when I say that. I am sick and tired of hearing about innocent people, especially children being mauled to death by these dangerous animals.

  5. romi41 says:

    That was a crap-ass day but I’m glad to hear that the stupid grocery-boy is only 5’4″ and equipped with a terrible personality….good luck getting laid mofo, hahaha 😉

  6. Greg says:

    Hah! Maybe that’s what his problem is Romi.

  7. Sweet posting! You remind me of my dad.

    I really wish you had called the police on those “kids” in the car. Assault, attempted vehicular homicide, menacing . . .

    Most police officers are very serious about providing consequences for these actions and honestly, my personal belief is that you’d have done the rest of us a favor by illustrating why the young and the clueless shouldn’t show us their disrespect behind the wheel of a deadly weapon.

    Go ahead kid, pierce your face or put on a T-Shirt that says “FUCK.” It’s perfectly legal and awww . . . it’s actually kind of cute. Just don’t assault me with your car.

Leave a Reply

