What a bunch of ne’er-do-wells

Posted: April 20, 2008 in home, life
Tags: , , ,

I didn’t make it to the beach yesterday. I blew it off because Gabby caused a . . . Ok, it was because I stayed up too late and overslept. It was Saturday morning. When I woke up I decided to stay one with my california king bed for a few more hours and man, oh, man, did I ever.

As soon as I crawled out of bed and stepped out of my bedroom Gabby roared up in my face and asked if she could meet her friend at Barnes & Noble.
Me: I thought you had a butt-load of Geometry to complete before Monday.
Her: I do. We both do.
Me: Well, why the hell are you two wanting to go to the bookstore?
Her: To do our homework.
Me: (head in lap, scratching head with both hands)
Her: (anticipating my next question) Lots of kids at my school do this. It’s peaceful and quiet and there’s a Starbucks in there.
Me: ?
Me: I see.

So off to Barnes & Noble we went. I didn’t just fall off the turnip wagon; I know they are probably there to see and be seen. That’s okay though. They could be doing a lot worse. If they were bad kids they wouldn’t be hanging out at a bookstore doing homework. When I picked her up I asked if she finished her homework there. She said they finished about half of it. When I asked why they only finished half of it she said “because all those books in there are so distracting”.

I am so not worried about my daughter or her group of friends. In fact, I don’t feel that I’m worthy of this peace of mind. I was a parent’s nightmare as a teen.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    You better knock on some wood! 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Gabby’s just too smart to do the shit we did, Greg!!

  3. Greg says:

    I will Laurie as soon as I find some. Everything around here seems to be made of partical board.

    That’s true Laura. Same goes for your girls. We sure did make a fine, smart bunch of girs, didn’t we? I guess intelligence and good judgment skips a generation.

  4. You’re right–you have it better than most.

    By virtue of the fact that she wants to meet her friends to do HOMEWORK at a bookstore because it has books and a Starbucks??? Well, Hallelujah that you’re only concern is that your responsible daughter is addicted to trendy, overpriced coffee.

    Be happy. I’m happy for you. You were a hellion as a teen and somehow, the apple fell far, far from the tree.

    God knows I was a prime candidate for Convent School. Had I given birth to a daughter, I doubt seriously I would’ve been so lucky.

    And lucky you are, G. You really are.

    LK

  5. Greg says:

    Hahaha! Convent school . . .

Leave a Reply

