What?

Posted: April 28, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Kristiane took an online quiz to identify her American accent. She asked her readers to do the same. The faithful reader of her blog that I am, I did as she asked and this is the result I got about myself:

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The Inland North
 

You may think you speak “Standard English straight out of the dictionary” but when you step away from the Great Lakes you get asked annoying questions like “Are you from Wisconsin?” or “Are you from Chicago?” Chances are you call carbonated drinks “pop.”

The Northeast
 
Philadelphia
 
The Midland
 
The South
 
Boston
 
The West
 
North Central
 
What American accent do you have?
Quiz Created on GoToQuiz
Comments
  1. laanba says:

    How in the world did that happen? Didn’t you grow up in Corpus?

  2. Michele says:

    I took that little quiz. I am from The West:
    “Your accent is the lowest common denominator of American speech. Unless you’re a SoCal surfer, no one thinks you have an accent. And really, you may not even be from the West at all, you could easily be from Florida or one of those big Southern cities like Dallas or Atlanta”

    Which is correct. I was born and raised in WA state. In 1999 I moved to Nashville, TN, then to La Crosse, WI in 2001 where I spent 6 yrs and now back to Nashville, TN.

    Everyone says I sound like a confused Wisconsinite. Seems I have added a little southern drawl to my Wisconsin-whatever.

    Blah blah blah blah… ok, I’ll shut up now. LOL

  3. kristiane says:

    Yes. I think this test only works about 50% of the time.

  4. Greg says:

    Yes, I did Laurie. I don’t know what happened. I asked my sister to take this same quiz before I responded here because I wanted to show how similar our speech patterns are. She talks about 10,000 words per minute and I always get asked where I’m from. Her results said that she had a Northeast accent. I don’t know what happened to us.

    Michele, I had no idea that you looked at this blog. I appreciate it. It seems like your “accent” is a bit like vegetable soup; a little bit of everything.

    Kristiane, thanks for the quiz.

  5. Laura says:

    I don’t know about you, Greg, but a lot of people are very surprised that I’m a native Texan. One person said I talk like I’ve taken speech lessons.

  6. Laura says:

    P.S… I don’t know HOW we escaped our mother’s Texas drawl!!

  7. Greg says:

    You know what? I was thinking the same thing Laura. It just beats the hell outta me how we didn’t get stuck with that accent.

  8. catrina says:

    Lowest common denominator of the English language? What the hell does THAT mean? Am I being insulted??

  9. Hey G…
    Could it have been MORE perfect for me? Geez, talk about typecasting. Read mine:

    “”You have a Midland accent” is just another way of saying “you don’t have an accent.” You probably are from the Midland (Pennsylvania, southern Ohio, southern Indiana, southern Illinois, and Missouri) but then for all we know you could be from Florida or Charleston or one of those big southern cities like Atlanta or Dallas. You have a good voice for TV and radio”

    Oh, the irony.

    LK

  10. romi41 says:

    I have one of those Canadian accent thingys, but I still contend that I do NOT say “aboot” in place of “about”…hmph!

  11. Greg says:

    Laurie, at least it doesn’t mean Midland, Texas ! I guess yours was dead on. Hey, maybe you should think about going in to radio or TV. What the hell how about both!

  12. Greg says:

    Romi, it wouldn’t matter if you did.

Leave a Reply

