Goodbye April

Posted: April 30, 2008 in home, office
Tags: , ,

Earlier this evening I tore away the big April sheet from my desk calendar. I use those huge desk calendars from office supply stores. I like to to scribble notes instead of use a computer. All I have to do is reach over, grab a pen and make a note. After that, anything I need to be reminded of is right there in it’s square on my right without having to access anything on this computer.

I always make a note of future events by shuffling forward through the calendar and leaving a reminder for myself. Tonight when I looked at the events for May I was reminded of the Houston public library book sale. It doesn’t happen until the 16th though.

For those that don’t know what this is, this is when the Houston public library gets rid of all it’s unwanted books by selling them to the public at ridiculously low prices. It takes place at the convention center downtown. It lasts for three days. It always seems to start on Friday. That pisses me off because those of us who have to work during the week are not able to get first shot at some of the best books.

However, it’s not as crowded the next day. What I do is bring my travel bag. It’s huge and it has wheels. I just wander the aisles and toss books into it. I then take it to a girl who adds up the cost of all the books. After that I take it to the mean old woman collecting the money and pay the outrageous price of $40.00 for about 25 books. Then I wheel my books back to my truck, toss the whole bag of books in the bed of my truck, get out of dowtown and then stop for some appetizers and a few beers.

When I get home I go through all my loot.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    What are the hours on Friday? Do you know? I wouldn’t be able to go until Sunday if they don’t have good Friday hours and what in the world would be left on Sunday!

  2. Natalie says:

    I love the book sale! Thanks for reminding me!

  3. Greg says:

    I’m sorry Laurie, I don’t know. I don’t even know where I got the reminder because it was so long ago. Surely, it can be found on the internet. I’m sorry you can’t be there Saturday. I know how much you like this.

    I’m glad this helped Natalie. If I see you there that Saturday I’ll say hi to you.

  4. Amy says:

    Mapquest says it is only an 18 hour drive from here to Houston. If I could afford the gas I would SO BE THERE.

    If your book sale is anything like the ones I’ve gone to, you are missing two things by not going on Friday:
    1. people who rush around grabbing everything that looks new to sell it on ebay.
    2. old ladies. old ladies. old ladies.

  5. Greg says:

    # 1. You’re probably right.
    # 2. You’re probably right.

    That’s funny Amy.

  6. Funny thing though about mentioning the removing of April from your calander.. The late, great Chuck Shramek used to say that we’re in the midst of “The Quickening”, an inexplicable process by which time speeds up…ridiculously so.

    I just changed my calender to January a few days ago….or so it would seem.

    Life is speeding by and frankly, that scares the shit out of me.

    I need more time.

    LK

  7. dailytri says:

    What a great idea. I tend to get my old books from garage sales in the summer at, usually, .25 cents each. But I wonder if the Minneapolis PL does this as well. And beers and apps afterwards…that’s a no brainer!

Leave a Reply

