I won

Posted: September 19, 2008 in weather
Tags: , , ,

I beat hurricane Ike in a race to Houston. Just barely though. My advantage was that I got on a plane and zoomed back home at the last minute. In my last post I mentioned that I was in Florida. Before I left Houston the storm was just entering the gulf. I didn’t feel good about leaving but I had to. I really needed to be in Florida and it looked like the storm was on a path south of here. Once I was in Florida I was so busy that I never saw any news and I wasn’t aware of the north-western turn it was taking.

Because I missed my flight out of Houston I had to stay and work an extra day in Florida. That extra day was Thursday the 11’th. That day I got a call from my Dad asking me if I was prepared for the storm and if not to get over to his house before it hit. Then I got a call from my ex-wife, the panic queen, asking me the same thing. All I could tell them was that I had booked a flight the night before for that very day, September 11 at 5:30 PM. They didn’t have any encouraging words for me. All they did was stress me out even more.

I got out of of the airport Friday night about 10:30 PM (we were grounded in Tampa because of lightening) and headed home. I stopped at the store next to my apartment and got some beer and a shitload of tuna, sardines and crackers. That’s all they had. Even though I had early Saturday to get whatever was left on the grocery store shelves, I wasn’t taking any chances like I did before Rita.

Saturday morning I brought in 30 gallons of water, 2 bags of charcoal, more non-perishables, ice and a little more beer which maxed out my ice chest. Please understand that hurricanes are like bowling, billiards, darts and fishing; They just aren’t the same without beer. It’s crucial.

I lost all power about 1:00 AM that night. I expected it. I spent the next four days staring out the window every day and reading by oil lamp at night. This was only a minor inconvenience. I still have food and a place to live. Those on Galveston Island and Boliver are suffering. Most of them have neither. I know what that feels like after riding out hurricane Celia in 1970.

Comments
  1. Glad you’re OK.

    In Karnes City, we got the periphery winds of Celia back in ’70 and before that, I remember Buelah and i’m told I remember Carla, but I don’t.

    I didn’t stick around for Ike and I won’t wait around for another one. Not even minimal Cat One’s. They’re a pain and dangerous and hurt people across the board.

    LK

  2. Greg says:

    I’m glad you’re OK too.
    I think you were smart to get out of here. I’m sick to death of eating tuna and Ritz crackers.

  3. Greg says:

    I forgot to ask you this: Where did you go?

  4. Michele says:

    Glad you are OK. Was thinking about you and where you were at the time of the storm and hoping you were faring well.
    Thank the heavens for beer, everything is more bearable with beer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

