Damned traffic lights

Posted: September 22, 2008 in community, work
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not getting much work done right now. On the best day, Houston’s traffic is heavy. It’s worse now after the storm because the traffic signals that are even there, the actual lights, are either blinking red in all four directions or swinging upside-down from their wires. Who knows where the missing lights were blown off to.

This has turned Houston into a busy city of nothing but four-way stops. There are a few working signals but not enough to even matter. If this were the only issue it wouldn’t be all that bad but it seems noone remembers what to do at a four-way stop anymore. They either just sit there waiting for hell to freeze over or go out of turn and sometimes two or three cars at a time. Military guys have a colorful expression used to describe such situations and geez, is it ever fitting right now.

Comments
  1. Natalie says:

    I wake up every morning fully expecting that THIS will be the day that I get into an accident because of those damn traffic lights. I’ve had so many near misses that I hardly even flinch anymore.

    I hate people.

  2. Michele says:

    Be careful out there, people are stupid. And when there is something out of their ordinary, they are even more stupid.
    Here in Nashville, people forget how to drive in the rain, traffic backs up for miles, accidents pile up… it’s unbelievable. God forbid if the traffic lights don’t work!!!

  3. Greg says:

    Oh, I know, I know, I know!

    I can’t believe I forgot to include this last night: If these people could just go 60 seconds without having their G– D—– precious cell phones stuck to their G– D—– stupid ear it might work better. When my boss calls me from California and I’m in a difficult traffic situation, I tell him I will have to call him back in a couple minutes. Too bad.

  4. maleesha says:

    good luck down there. my friend says the same thing about the lights. UGH. As if it isn’t hard enough to evade the crazies on a regular day!

  5. The first week after Ike hit was like living in a Communist country. Food lines, gas lines, curfews. Half the populace had no power. The infrastructure was compromised. Boil water. Police at every intersection.

    If you live anywhere along the Gulf Coast of Texas you learn early on that the worst part of a hurricane isn’t the fierce winds or storm surge. Don’t get me wrong, while those are incredibly damaging and often fatal for those caught in their clutches, the aftermath of a storm is what
    kills you emotionally.

    I have friends and colleagues going on week three w/o power and in the country’s soon to be third largest city of one of the globe’s principle hubs for the production and refinement of all things petrochemical, that’s just fucking unheard of.

    Hurricanes. Only wish them of radical extremists.

    Seriously

    LK

  6. tk says:

    Just checking in.

  7. Greg says:

    I miss you Kathy.

Leave a Reply

