Too much time on my hands

Posted: December 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

The other evening my daughter and I were talking about our birth dates and our ages. This subject came up because both of our birthdays are approaching and they are just two days apart. She asked how old I would be.
“So, what are you gonna be . . . 50?”
“No”, I said, “I’ll only be 44!”
She knew that. She just likes to get a rise out of me.

I sat quietly for a moment so she wouldn’t get any satisfaction out of that jab. But during that time I realized something: 4 and 4 is 8. That’s the day she was born. When I brought that to her attention she was also silent for a moment and then said “Well, I’ll be 15. 1 and 5 is 6 and that’s your birthday.”

I completely suck at everything mathematical but I have always had a fascination with numbers. I know that makes no sense. I don’t think I could solve an equation if I had a gun to my head but I am able to notice interesting relationships and alignments between numbers. It’s sort of a mental hobby that’s plagued me all my life and one I don’t think I’ll ever understand.

Here’s an example:
My ex will turn 44 on December 3rd. 4+4=8
I will also turn 44 on December 6th. 4+4=8
Gabby’s birthday is December 8th.
She will be 15. 1+5=6 (my birthday)
Our oldest daughter is 21. 2+1=3 (ex’s birthday)
My sister will be 42 in January. 4+2=6 (my birthday)
My Dad is 69. 6+9=15 1+5=6 (my birthday)

Man, I am so going to bed now.

Leave a Reply

