Never a dull moment

Posted: January 24, 2009 in home, travel
Tags: , ,

I got back into town yesterday after my monthly San Antonio/Wimberley run and my stay in a motel in San Marcos. I hate those places. I really do. The motel rooms that is. The only good thing about these trips is that I can eat an expensive dinner on the company and then go back to my room and watch some cable, which I don’t have at home.

When I got home it was time for my daughter to go to dinner with her friend’s family and then spend the night. I was so tired from the road that I fell asleep right after she left. About two hours later she called and said that the sky in our neighborhood was full of smoke. I walked outside to take a look and sure enough, it was.

The smoke was so thick and dark that it blocked out most of the sky. As I was standing there looking at this the entire block suddenly went black. The power went out. Just like that. I went back inside and sat in the dark just like I did when hurricane Ike hit us. This time I didn’t light my oil lamp. I just went back to sleep.

About two hours later I woke up to find the power back on and this computer telling me that it had been shut down improperly. Duh. I went outside again and saw that the air was choked with smoke. It looked like fog. When it was burning the smoke rose high and blew to the northeast but after it was extinguished the wind changed and sent the smoke from the smoldering remains right into this apartment complex. It smelled like being on the windward side of a campfire that had been dowsed with water.

Comments
  1. That’s just surreal.

  2. maleesha says:

    yikes! did you ever find out what it was?

  3. Greg says:

    I could show you where what’s left of it is but I don’t know what it was. It’s just around the corner but it was something I’ve never noticed. My daughter said it was “some car place” whatever that means.

  4. Romi says:

    What on earth was that!?!??! That is sooo freaky! And how you describe it is freakier still (the air choked with smoke)…glad everyone’s okay!

  5. Greg says:

    Hey, Romi. I still don’t know exactly what it was but it was a large single story structure. I found out later that it was intentionally set. Then, just the other day a restaurant just down the street on the other side of me that had been closed down for awhile burned down too. I was driving home as it was burning and was a little worried that it was in my apartment complex.

Leave a Reply

