Little mystic moments

Posted: June 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

You know how certain scents or sounds can take you back to another time in your life or bring back a certain feeling you once had? To me it’s the Cicadas. When I go outside and hear them buzzing in the trees it takes me all the way back to when I was a little kid running all over the neighborhood in shorts without a care in world. I really appreciate these noisy, fugly bugs. They allow me to slip back into a fond memory and relive it for a few minutes.

Comments
  1. I love the sound of cicadas. It sounds like home.

  2. That’s a typrical feeling from anyone born and raised (or spent a significant amount of time as a child) in South Texas.

    I always thought Cicadas were the national bird of South Texas.

    Yeah…I know they’re insects.

    Combine that with the smell of freshly cut grass, the sound of a sprinkler, the smell of my mom’s cigarette and Scotch, some easy listening music and the feel of warm cement on the back porch, made that way because of hours spent under the hot sun, and you’ve got my life as a kid on summer afternoons.

    Sounds, smells and our ability to interpret then, can be the most transcendent of our senses.

    LK

  3. Greg says:

    Well put. You made me think a little more about this. It brought to mind the smell of the beach and fish and of coming home crusty and wet as a drowned rat. The feeling you get when you’ve dried off after that much needed shower after a hard day at the beach. Bliss.

Leave a Reply

