My number finally came up

Posted: December 19, 2009 in city
Tags: , , , ,

It was only a matter of time. It was inevitable. I’ve lived in Houston for 20 years without any trouble but that streak of good luck ended Friday. I experienced my first armed robbery yesterday.

I was almost off work. I had just one more place to go but I made a bad decision. I decided to stop at a store to get a drink. When I got back in my truck a thug jumped in on the passenger side and stuck a gun in my face.

Thug: “Gimme wallet!”
I gave it to him.
Thug: “What in it?”
Me: “Money” (I didn’t mention the debit or credit cards.)
Thug: “Gimme you phone too muh-fuckuh!”
I gave it to him.
Thug: “What else you got?”
Me: “Nothing.”

I thought he would just rob me and run away. Instead he just sat there pointing that gun at me and staring at me. I was just waiting for him to pull the trigger. He was thinking about it.

I was scared because it seemed like this guy wanted me to see his face. Even after he jumped out of my truck he came back and stared at me for a long time through the passenger side window before he ran off into an apartment complex.

I am so getting my CCL in January.

Comments
  1. laanba says:

    Yikes, yikes, yikes! I’m so sorry that happened Greg. Scary to think about it and I’m glad you weren’t hurt.

  2. maleesha says:

    UGH. That is terrifying. I wouldn’t be able to sleep.

  3. This has been the thing that has scared me the most about living in Houston. Living anywhere, these days.

    Man, I’m so scared fo you, G. How awful. Where was this and what time of day? This scares me. Other than your now permanently soiled underwear, I’m glad you weren’t hurt.

    These are crazy ass times.

    I hate to say this but you’re probably right. It was important for you to see his face? Was he Anglo? African American? Asian? Hispanic? Other? I’m not profiling, I’m just curious.

    What did the cops say? Just another Friday afternoon Convenience Store Robbert in The Big City?

    Sad, sad…sad.

    Glad you’re OK,
    LK

    • Greg says:

      This happened at a little store on Alief Clodine between Eldridge and Hwy 6. It happened at exactly 3:00 PM. There were two guys involved. When I walked out of the store I remember walking past some thug who started banging a metal handle from a mop or broom on the concrete (in a discrete manner of course). I thought it was odd but didn’t think much of it at the moment. Now I know it was a signal to the other thug. I really don’t know what made me look worth robbing. I’m in a work truck and in my work costume. They were black guys. The cops were so helpful. I was impressed. They told me to stay put while they did an immediate raid on the apartment complex I saw them run into. They didn’t find them and here’s why: Twenty minutes after I was robbed they were at a Walmart cleaning out my bank account using my debit card. My girls didn’t get anything for Christmas. I had no money anymore. Those cops were bad-ass though. After I got home from my bank I saw Harris county cops all over this neighborhood. It was like the top of a fire ant bed had been kicked off. They were seriously on it. They were everywhere. The deputy I was with that day gave me a robbery report card and said that if I was pulled over that this would substitute for my stolen drivers license. He told me that they would be in touch if they found anyone matching the description I gave. He then told me that he was sorry that this happened to me. Wow.

  4. So, what about money? Can you get any back in a situation like this? Did you contact your bank? If so, what was their response?

    I’d like to think your bank would work with you considering thouse were fraudulent purchases at the hands of two men who robbed you.

    How muchd were you ought altogether? I hate hearing the girls had no Christmas from Dad this year, but I would imagine they understood.

    Did you call the cops immmediately?

    Hate that this happened, G. I really do and in happened in broad daylight no less.

    LK

  5. Jenice says:

    Um wow. Did you report it? I like never get on wordpress anymore then I hope on to be nosey and find this. I’m glad you are OK though.

Leave a Reply

